top of page
About: Top


Who we are and what we do

About: Top

Who We Are

About: Who We Are

Heartland Film is a nonprofit arts organization that runs the 11-day Heartland International Film Festival in October, the Academy Award®-Qualifying Indy Shorts International Film Festival in July, the Truly Moving Picture Award and other year-round programs


Based in Indianapolis, Indiana, Heartland Film was founded in 1991 with the mission to curate, promote and celebrate thoughtful and engaging films from diverse perspectives. The films we select and exhibit – whether they inspire conversation, ignite imagination, or shift perspectives – all have one thing in common: they are entertaining films that do more than just entertain.


     Films that do
more than

Over the years, we presented $3.5 million in cash prize – the largest total amount awarded by any film festival in North America – presented 200+ studio films with the Truly Moving Picture Award, and showcased more than 2,000 feature and short films, including eight Oscar®-winning titles. To view our past Festival guidebooks, pictures, films and more check out digital archives section here!

Vision: Heartland Film is the preeminent destination for connecting audiences and filmmakers to experience transformative film.

About: Programs


About: Staff


Michael Ault


Kelly Alexiou

Director of Office Management 

Heather Ross

Director of Development

Emily Chu

Development Coordinator

Adam Howell

Senior Director of Strategic Planning

Bailey Scales

Production & Special Events Manager

Abi Lindstedt

Community Outreach &

Special Events Coordinator

Greg Sorvig

Artistic Director

Julia Ricci

Senior Programmer

Julie Landrum

Volunteer Coordinator

Jessica Chapman

Director of Marketing & Communications

Angelo Auriemma

Creative Manager

Hannah Lindgren

Social Media Coordinator

Evan Vernon

Hospitality Coordinator

Please do not email staff members about film submissions. Please visit our Filmmaker FAQ and email if you have any questions.

About: Board

Board of Directors

Kim Dollin

Board Chair


TJ Woodard

Vice Chair

David Wong


John Dewey


Betty Stilwell

Immediate Past Chair

Frank Basile

Vicki Bohlsen

Jennifer Closshey

Daniel Cook

Gabe Connell

Jennifer Darby

Christina Hale

Carolyn Hunt

Michael Husain

Kristi Lee

Fred Lockett

Karen Mangia

Seth Maxwell

Gregory M. Paul

Yung Nguyen

Amy Pauszek

Patricia Payne

Ben Shine

Stan Soderstrom

Robert Spoonmore

Bill Stinson

Susie Townsend

Vernon Williams

About: Advisory

Advisory Council

Mary Azar Callahan

Brooke Barnett

Alpha Blackburn

Vicki Bohlsen

Lisa Breall

Mika Brown

Andrea Brummett

Ellen Butz

Sandra Daly

Claudia Dille

Leslie Donchetz

LeeAnn Edmonston

Susan Frenzel

Arlene Grande

Jenny Godby

Lynda Goeke

Nikki Gray

Ted Green

Amy Howell

David Klapper

Larry Landis

Lisa LeCrone

Katie Lory

Charlie Morgan

Liza Najem

Alexis Odle

Sam Odle

Ken Pack

Amy Pauszek

Bob Schultz

Todd Shock

Brian Southard

David Spencer

Chantel Stone

Roberta Walton

Amy Wright

About: Archives2